Window Tint Laws by State

Find car window tint laws by state so you can know which automotive window tint percentage is legal in your state.

What is Tint Laws?

Tint laws are laws that govern how much tint can be put on the windows of a car. The laws are different for each state and can be specific to the vehicle type. In Illinois, the tint laws for passenger cars state that non-reflective tint can be used in all of the 6-inch tops on the windows and that the front windows must let greater than 35% of light enter. 

For vans and SUVs, non-reflective tints are permitted in all 6 inches in the front of the vehicle, and the windows on the front should allow for at least 50% light to enter. The back windows must be non-reflective; however, the state’s law does not specify this requirement. 

What is Tint Laws

Multipurpose vehicles can only be 50% tinted, and tinting more than the top six inches tinted is not legal. Side mirrors with dual sides are required when the back window is tinted. Illinois tint laws specifically prohibit tint colors that are not permitted. Infractions to the tint law in Illinois could result in fines ranging between $50 and $500, and subsequent violations can be a class C misdemeanor and carry an amount of $100- $500. 

The law is important to keep in mind that the tinting laws and rules may be applied differently in different areas or counties where residents reside. Therefore, confirming the details with your local DMV and law enforcement officials is advised.

2023 Window Tint Laws by State

Here is a complete description of the car window tint laws as well as legal tint percentages, state by state. With this chart, you will be able to identify the best tint shade for you.

When reading these laws on car tints, remember that percentages for window tints relate to how much light can be let pass through. It is also known by the Visible Light Transmission (VLT) percent.

The laws regarding tinting the windshield pertain to the portion of the windshield that may be legally tinted, as well as the quantity of tint that can be allowed for the entire windshield in accordance with the state’s laws.

Note: The information’s exactness, reliability, or validity cannot be guaranteed or warranted. We aren’t lawyers or an attorney firm and don’t provide legal advice. We suggest you consult a lawyer or other suitable professional when you require legal advice.

Select your state below for more information on the car window tint laws in that state.

Ohio Window Tinting Laws

Ohio Window Tinting Laws: In 2004, Ohio passed rules about how dark car windows can be. Everything you need to…

Read More »
No Comments

Maine Window Tinting Laws

Maine Window Tinting Laws: In Maine, legislation governing car window tinting were adopted in 1989. We’ve provided you with all…

Read More »
No Comments

Louisiana Window Tinting Laws

Louisiana Window Tinting Laws: Louisiana passed legislation regulating car window tinting in 1993. We’ve given you all the details you…

Read More »
No Comments

Kansas Window Tinting Laws

Kansas Window Tinting Laws: Laws governing car window tinting were adopted in Kansas in 1987. We’ve given you all the…

Read More »
No Comments

About

I’m Taylor Harris, the proud owner, and founder of this website. As a passionate advocate for automotive window tinting, I am thrilled to provide you with a comprehensive resource on tinting laws across different states in the United States.

FAQ

Most frequent questions and answers

The darkest window tint is commonly offered. Some manufacturers make films with the darkness of as low as a percent.

Law Enforcement uses tint meters, which measure the amount of light that passes through the glass. The amount of light is calculated as a %, known as visible light transmission (VLT).

30 percent is regarded as a moderate dark shade. The darkest shade typically available is 5%, which blocks 95% of the light from entering. Anything above 50% is considered to be clear. 30% is in the middle. This is the reason it’s a middle-shade tint. It is also among the top sought-after shades for front windows.

Limo tint typically refers to a 5 percent tint that blocks all light. If the limo tint is illegal or legal, it will depend on the windows you are applying it to and the state you reside in. Look at the chart above to determine the legality of dark tints for your particular state.

Yes, in most states, window tint is legal if you don’t tint darker than the allowed visible light transmittance.

The darkest tint legal will differ from state to state. Each state has specific laws determining the dark shade of tint permitted for side windows, rear windows, and windshield.