Alabama Window Tinting Laws

Alabama Window Tinting Laws: In 1996, Alabama passed rules about how dark car windows can be.

We have covered all you need to know about the window tint on your automobile, including how dark or shiny it can be in your state.

Alabama Window Tinting Laws

Alabama has more rules and laws about tinting car windows, so make sure you learn all about them below.

Window tint darkness in Alabama

Visible Light Transmission, or VLT, is the amount of visible light that gets through your car’s windows.

In Alabama, there are very specific rules about how much light can get through your film and glass, and these rules are different for regular cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

1. Windshield: The top 6 inches of the glass can have a tint that doesn’t reflect light.

2. Front Side windows: More than 32% of light must be able to come in.

3. Back side windows: More than 32% of light must be able to come in.

4. Rear Window: More than 32% of light must be able to come in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

1. Windshield:  The top 6 inches of the glass can have a tint that doesn’t reflect light.

2. Front Side windows: More than 32% of light must be able to come in.

3. Back-side windows: You can use any shade.

4. Rear Window: You can use any darkness.

What does VLT mean according to Alabama state law?

The VLT, or Visible Light Transmission, showed how much light you could see coming through your car window.

The window tint will get darker as the VLT goes down. And a higher VLT means that more light will easily get through the windows.

For instance, if you tint the glasses 75%, they will let in 75% of the visible light. And 5% tint will make the inside of your car much darker.

By the way, you can find additional information on our website regarding VLT and window tint%.

Window Tint Reflection in Alabama

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat.

Alabama window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

1. Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

2. Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

1. Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

2. Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Other Alabama window tint rules and regulations

There are a few other important laws, rules, and rules about window tinting in Alabama. These are some of them:

Alabama Window Tinting Laws

1. Side mirrors: There are no rules.

2. Restricted Colors: In Alabama, you can use any tint color.

3. Certificates: All film sold in the state needs to be certified by the company that made it. Ask your supplier if the film they use is approved.

4. Stickers: Each tinted window must have a sticker or label of compliance between the film and the glass to show that the tinting is allowed.

5. Medical Exceptions: Alabama offers medical exemptions for special tint. AL state law can tell you more about the exact terms of the protection.

6. Penalties: For a first offense, you could get up to $100 or 10 days in jail, or both. If it’s your second offense in a year, you could get up to $200 or 30 days in jail.

Third crime within a year: $500 fine or up to 3 months in jail.

Remember that Alabama’s laws and rules about tinting may be viewed differently in your county or where you live.

We always suggest that you double-check the information we give you with your local DMV or law police.

Alabama window tint law enforcement

Alabama’s state troopers and municipal police departments are in charge of monitoring compliance with the laws governing window tint.

The Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) has given these groups permission to follow the rules it has set up.

If a car’s window tint breaks the law, police officers can write tickets or take other action.

Benefits of  Window Tinting

Up to 99% of UV rays are blocked by tinted windows. The inside of the car gets 60% cooler.

Additionally, it can shield you from the sun’s UV rays and prevent your car’s interior from yellowing, cracking, and looking dated.

Another great benefit is the amount of privacy, which makes it harder for people passing by to look in.

Car Window Tint Cost

In general, the price can change. For example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle.

But let’s say you want a high-end film like clay window tint. In that case, it can cost up to $400 per car.

All of these depend on different things, like the number of windows, the type of tint, and the guarantee.

However, DIY tint kits, which frequently cost less than $100, are a more affordable alternative to having your windows professionally tinted.

How dark can i tint my windows in alabama

In Alabama, the rules about window tinting tell people how dark their car windows can be.

According to the regulations, the back window, front side windows, and side windows in the back must all let more light than 32%.

This means that the shade on your windows can’t be too dark. At least 32% of visible light must be able to get through.

Alabama Window Tinting Laws

It’s important to remember that the 32% light transfer rule applies to all windows except the windshield.

Non-reflective tint can only be put on the glass above the AS-1 line or the top 6 inches, whichever is higher.

You can acquire the most latest and accurate information by getting in touch with the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) or your neighborhood police station.

Alabama Medical Exemption Requirements

StateAlabama
Statute, regulation, or other sourcesAla. Code 1975 § 32-5C2; Ala. Admin. Code r. 760-X-1-.17
To whom the exemption may applyThe owner of the car or a regular guest
Reason(s)People must be protected from the sun’s direct rays. The Department of Public Safety will figure out how to do this.
Which windowsN/A
Limits on the amount of tintThe Department of Public Safety will figure out the rules and restrictions.
Certification from a (what kind of) medical providerWritten proof of need from a doctor who is allowed to work in the state
Application to state departmentRequired
Document required in vehicleN/A

Alabama Window Tint Law Medical Exemption

As long as they obtain a medical permit, Alabama law allows drivers to tint their automobile windows to whatever extent.

For this permission, you need a letter from your doctor that says you need to tint your windows because of a medical condition.

The letter needs to say who you are, when you were born, and why you need to tint your windows.

This letter must be kept on you at all times When driving, and you must hand it over to a police officer upon request.

Legal Window Tint in Alabama for Passenger Vehicles and Station Wagon

1. Windshield: The top 6 inches can have tint that doesn’t reflect light.

2. Front side windows: can be tinted as long as at least 32% of light gets through.

3. Back windows: can be tinted as long as at least 32% of light gets through.

4. Rear window: covering must let at least 32% of light through.

Legal Window Tint in Alabama for Multi-purposes Vehicles

  • Windshield The top 6 inches can have tint that doesn’t reflect light.
  • Front side windows can be tinted as long as at least 32% of light gets through.
  • Back windows can have any dark tint
  • Any dark tint is okay for the back window.

Auto window tinting laws alabama

In Alabama, there are rules about how dark and reflective car window tinting can be.

Here are the rules about window tinting in Alabama:

1. Windshield: Non-reflective tint is only allowed on the top 6 inches or above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line, whichever is higher.

2. Front Side Windows: The tint must let in more than 32% of the light, which means that at least 32% of the window must be open.

3. Back Side Windows: Like the front side windows, the color must let more than 32% of light through.

4. Rear Window:The back window tint must also let more than 32% of light through.

5. Reflective Tint: You can’t put mirrored tint on the side windows in the front or back.

It’s important to remember that the 32% light transmission rule refers to the side windows in front, the side windows in back, and the back window.

Different rules apply to the windshield, which can only have non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line or the top 6 inches, whichever is higher.

Maintenance and Care of Window Tint

To keep your window tint in good condition and extend its lifespan, remember these tips:

  • Use a soft cloth that won’t scratch and a light window cleaner to clean the tinted windows.
  • Don’t use strong chemicals or rough materials on the tint because they can damage it.
  • Be careful not to scratch the tint when you scrape ice or snow off the windows.

Alabama Window Tinting Laws Video

References

1 Wikipedia

2. State Website

3. Alabama Code Title 32, Chapter 5C: Window tinting and medical exceptions

4. Alabama Department of Public Safety – Window Tinting Regulations (.pdf file)

5. Alabama Law Enforcement Agency – Tinting Regulations

Medical Exemption Info

1. Alabama laws: Section 32-5C-4 – Medical exemptions

2. Alabama Tinting Regulations – medical exemption contacts (scroll to bottom)

The Bottom Line

In conclusion, if You want to have the windows on your automobile tinted in Alabama, you need be aware of the regulations.

Even though there are some limitations, the advantages of window tinting make it worthwhile to adhere to the rules.

Visit the website of the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center to find out more about the state’s window tinting regulations or For assistance in finding a skilled installation.

This article’s purpose was to educate you about Alabama’s tint Regulations so you can safely navigate the state in your car.

👉 Visit our Site for more information: https://ustintinglaws.com.

Alabama Window Tinting Laws – FAQ

What is the permissible darkness for window tinting in Alabama?

The front and back side windows, as well as the back window, must each let in more than 32% of the total amount of light that enters the space.

Can I have darker tint on my rear window compared to the front side windows?

No, all of the tints must have the same amount of black.

Reflective tint allowed on front or back side windows?

No, the rule in Alabama says that reflective tint can’t be used on the front or back side windows.

Are there any exemptions for medical conditions?

Yes, people with certain health problems may be able to get a medical permission so they can have darker window tint. Documentation must be done right.

Can I have tinted windows if my vehicle came with factory tint?

It’s important to make sure the original tint doesn’t go over the legal limits in Alabama. Factory tint might not always be good enough.

Are commercial vehicles subject to the same window tinting laws?

Depending on their use and the rules, commercial vehicles may have different window tinting standards.

What are the penalties for violating window tinting laws in Alabama?

When rules are broken, charges and fines can happen. The repercussions depend on how bad the violation was and if it has happened before.

Do I need to remove aftermarket tint to comply with the law?

It could be necessary to adjust or remove the aftermarket shade if it is darker than what is permitted by legislation.

Can I have my windshield tinted?

The top 6 inches or the manufacturer’s AS-1 line, whichever is higher, can have tint that doesn’t reflect light.

Where can I find the most up-to-date information on Alabama’s window tinting laws?

You should speak with the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) or your local police for the most recent and correct information on window tinting regulations in Alabama.

Leave a Comment