Nebraska Window Tinting Laws

Nebraska Window Tinting Laws: Laws about window tinting for cars were passed in Nebraska in 2006.

We have covered all you need to know about the window tint on your automobile, including how dark or shiny it can be in your state.

Nebraska Window Tinting Laws

There are also more rules and laws about tinting car windows in Nebraska, so make sure to read about them all below.

Nebraska Window Tint Law

SedanMPV
WindshieldAS-1AS-1
Front Side35%35%
Back side20%Any
Rear window20%Any

By law, you can’t tint your windshield above the AS-1 line in Nebraska.

The front side windows must let in at least 35% of the light.

Back side windows and the back window can have 20% VLT on passenger cars, but SUVs and other multipurpose vehicles can have any amount of darkness.

What does VLT mean according to Nebraska state law?

The VLT, or Visible Light Transmission, showed how much light you could see coming through your car window.

The window tint will get darker as the VLT goes down. And a higher VLT means that more light will easily get through the windows.

For example, 75% of the light will pass through glasses that are colored 75%. And 5% tint will make the inside of your car much darker.

What is the legal tint in nebraska

In Nebraska, the allowed darkness of window tint depends on which window of the car it is:

1. Front Side Windows: The front side windows can have no more than 24% VLT (Visible Light Transmission) of tint.

This means that the window must let at least 24% of visible light through.

2. Rear Side Windows and Rear Windshield: There are no rules about how dark the tint can be on the side windows and windshield in the back.

You can tint these windows to any amount of darkness you want.

3. Windshield Tint: The top 6 inches of the window can have tint that doesn’t reflect light.

Window tint darkness in Nebraska

The quantity of visible light that Passes through the windows of your car is known as visible light transmission, or VLT.

In Nebraska, there are very specific rules about how much light can get through your screen and glass, and they are different for sedan cars, SUV cars, and vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

1. Windshield: Above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line, you can use tint that doesn’t reflect light.

2. Front Side windows: More than 35% of light must be able to get in.

3. Back Side windows: More than 20% of light must be able to get in.

4. Rear Window: More than 20% of light must be able to get in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

1. Windshield: Above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line, you can use tint that doesn’t reflect light.

2. Front Side windows: More than 35% of light must be able to get in.

3. Back Side windows: Could be any dark.

4. Rear Window: Could be any dark.

In Nebraska, it’s against the law to tint windows so much that it’s hard to see inside the car.

This is very open to interpretation, so to be safe, you may want to avoid tinting less than 20% VLT on all cars.

Nebraska Window Tint Law for Passenger Vehicles

1. Windshield: Above the AS-1 line, you can use non-reflective tint.

2. Front side windows: 35% VLT

3. Windows in the back: 20% VLT

4. Back door: 20% VLT

Nebraska Window Tint Law for Multi-purpose Vehicles

1. Windshield: Above the AS-1 line, you can use non-reflective tint.

2. Front side windows: 35% VLT

3. Backside windows: Any Shadows

4. Rear window: Any Shadows

Window tint reflection in Nebraska

Window shade can reflect light and cut down on heat and glare.

Nebraska Window Tinting Laws

The rule in Nebraska about window tint allows a certain amount of window reflection, so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

1. Front Side windows: Must not show more than 35%.

2. Back Side windows: Must not show more than 35%.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

1. Front Side windows: Must not show more than 35%.

2. Back Side windows: Must not show more than 35%.

Auto Window Tint Rules in Nebraska for Larger Vehicles

In Nebraska, vans, SUVs, and trucks must meet the same rules as cars and have no more than a 24% VLT tint on the front side windows.

MPVs can have any level of darkness of window film on the back side windows, even full privacy tint that makes it impossible to see inside the car.

Under Nebraska law, you can also tint your back windows, which are also called rear or back windshields and are not the same as rear side windows.

Even though dark privacy tint is legally legal in Nebraska, it’s best not to tint windows too darkly if you don’t need to for personal or professional reasons.

In Nebraska, blackout tint that makes it hard to see inside a car often draws the attention of police.

Other Nebraska window tint rules and regulations

There are a few other important laws, rules, and rules about window tinting in Nebraska. These are some of them:

1. Side mirrors: There are no rules about side mirrors in Nebraska state law.

2. Restricted Colors: Nebraska law says that RED, AMBER, and YELLOW can’t be used on windshields.

3. Certificates: Businesses that produce and distribute movies within the state are exempt from obtaining licenses for their films.

4. Stickers: No sticker is needed to show that the tinting is allowed.

5. Medical Exceptions: Nebraska law doesn’t let you use special tint because of a medical condition.

6. Penalties: Misdemeanor of class V.

Remember that the laws and rules about tinting in Nebraska may be viewed differently in your county or where you live.

We always suggest that you double-check the information we give you with your local DMV or law police.

Benefits of  Window Tinting

Up to 99% of UV rays are blocked by tinted windows. The inside of the car gets 60% cooler.

Additionally, it can shield you from the sun’s UV rays and prevent your car’s interior from yellowing, cracking, and looking dated.

Another great benefit is the amount of privacy, which makes it harder for people passing by to look in.

Car Window Tint Cost

In general, the price can change. For example, a basic tint for a sedan car using the classic film can cost less than $150 per vehicle.

But let’s say you want a high-end film like clay window tint.In that instance, the price per vehicle can reach $400.

Nebraska Window Tinting Laws

All of these depend on different things, like the number of windows, the type of tint, and the guarantee.

However, DIY tint kits, which frequently cost less than $100, are a more affordable alternative to having your windows professionally tinted.

Legal Windshield Window Film in Nebraska

Nebraska’s rules about windshield window film are easy to follow.

You can put non-reflective window film down to the glass manufacturer’s AS-1 line, which is about five or six inches below the roof line.

If you can’t see the AS-1 line, the color strip should be about five inches thick.

Additionally, bear in mind that the majority of Automobiles, trucks, and SUVs already have tinted windows, so you might not need this window film.

If your car doesn’t have factory tinting, you should add a legal nonreflective window film.

This tint cuts down on sun glare, which makes your eyes less tired and your drive safer.

is 5 tint legal in nebraska

No, the state of Nebraska does not allow 5% tint. Visible Light Transmission (VLT) limits how dark window tint can be on the front side windows to 24%.

This means that the window must let at least 24% of light through.

If you put 5% tint on your front side windows in Nebraska, it is much darker than what is allowed by law and you are likely to get a ticket and a fine.

It’s crucial to abide by the state’s window-tinting regulations if you want to avoid legal issues while driving.

Nebraska Window Tint Medical Exemption

Any driver with a medical permit in Nebraska can tint their car windows to any degree.

For this permission, you need a letter from your doctor that says you need to tint your windows because of a medical condition.

The letter needs to say who you are, when you were born, and why you need to tint your windows.

This letter must be kept on you at all times When driving, and you must hand it over to a police officer upon request.

How to Get Medical Exemption for Window Tint in Nebraska?

Obtaining this Nebraska Window Tint Exemption Form is a reasonably easy process.

Simply visit your physician and request a statement indicating that you require the dark tint for medicinal reasons.

Take the note to your local motor vehicle office once you have it, and they will give you an exemption sticker to display on your car.

Nebraska Medical Exemption Requirements

StateNebraska
Statute, regulation, or other sourcesNeb.Rev.St. § 60-6,260
For whom the exemption may apply(not specified)
Reason(s)medical reasons
Frequency of
certification of need
decided by the State Patrol or the local police
Limits on the amount of tint
Certification from medical provider licensed physician
Application to state
department
application to the State Patrol or a city police department
Document required in
vehicle
(It’s not clear, but the State Patrol or local police will keep a copy until it expires.)

is window tint a secondary offense in nebraska

In Nebraska, breaking the law about window tint was only a minor crime.

This implies that you cannot be stopped by the police only because your window tint is too dark.

If you are pulled over for another offense, such speeding or running a red light, and they learn about the tint violation while pulling you over, then they can only issue you a ticket for tinted windows.

But please keep in mind that rules can change.

Window Tint Law Violations in Nebraska

In Nebraska, breaking the law about window tint is considered a Class V crime.

Although these infractions are not serious crimes and you cannot go to jail for them, the fines can build up if the tint is not removed.

Each illegally tinted window on a car can get you a $100 ticket, so if an officer and the courts choose to follow the law to the fullest extent possible, your illegal auto tint in Nebraska could cost you hundreds of dollars in fines.

It’s much cheaper to just get legal window tint for your car from the start than to risk getting a ticket for illegal tint and then having to spend time and money to get your illegal tint changed with tint that is legal in Nebraska.

References

1. Wikipedia

2. State website

3. Nebraska Revised Statutes section 60-6, 257: Windshields and windows; tinting; sun-screening

The Bottom Line

The purpose of this article was to inform you of Nebraska’s tint regulations so you can travel the state in your car with Confidence.

In conclusion, you should be aware of the regulations if you wish to tint your car’s windows in Nebraska.

Although there are some regulations regarding window tinting, the advantages make observing them well worth your time.

  👉 Visit our Site for more information: https://ustintinglaws.com.

Nebraska Window Tinting Laws – FAQ

What is the legal limit for window tint darkness in Nebraska?

Nebraska’s law says that the front side windows can only have a VLT (Visible Light Transmission) of 24%.

Can I tint my rear windows and rear windshield darker than the front side windows?

Yes, there are no rules about how dark back windows and rear windshields can be in Nebraska.

Are there any restrictions on reflective window tint?

Yes, you can’t put mirrored window tint on a car in Nebraska.

Can I get an exemption for medical reasons to have darker window tint?

Yes, you can ask for a medical permit so that you can have darker window tint, but the state must agree to it.

Are colored tints (red, amber, blue, etc.) allowed on car windows?

No, it is against the law in Nebraska to put colored shades on a car window.

How much of the windshield can be tinted?

The top 6 inches of the window can have tint that doesn’t reflect light.

Do police officers measure window tint darkness during traffic stops?

Yes, police officers can use tint meters to check how dark the window tint is when they stop a car.

What are the penalties for violating window tinting laws?

You risk receiving a ticket and paying a fine if you drive with an illegal window tint.

Can I use aftermarket window tint on my vehicle after purchase?

Yes, you can put on aftermarket window tint, but it needs to be legal in Nebraska.

Where can I find the specific window tint regulations for Nebraska?

You can get more information about window tinting rules from the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles or from the police in your area.

Leave a Comment