New Hampshire Window Tinting Laws

New Hampshire Window Tinting Laws: In 1990, New Hampshire passed rules that say you can’t tint the windows of your car.

Everything you need to know about your car’s window tint, including how dark or shiny it can be in your state, has been Covered by us.

New Hampshire Window Tinting Laws

New Hampshire has more rules and laws about tinting car windows, so make sure you learn all about them below.

What does VLT mean according to New Hampshire state law?

The VLT, or Visible Light Transmission, showed how much light you could see coming through your car window.

The window tint will get darker as the VLT goes down. And a higher VLT means that more light will easily get through the windows.

For instance, 75% of the light will flow through the glasses if they are 75% tinted. And 5% tint will make the inside of your car much darker.

Window tint darkness in New Hampshire

Visible Light Transmission, or VLT, is the amount of visible light that gets through Your car’s windows.

In New Hampshire, there are very specific rules about how much light can get through your film and glass, and they are different for regular cars, SUV cars, and vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

1. Windshield: The top 6 inches of the glass can have a 35% VLT tint that doesn’t reflect light.

2. Front Side windows: More than 70% of light must be able to get in.

3. Back Side windows: More than 35% of light must be able to get in.

4. Rear Window: More than 35% of light must be able to get in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

1. Windshield: The top 6 inches of the glass can have a 35% VLT tint that doesn’t reflect light.

2. Front Side windows: More than 70% of light must be able to get in.

3. Back Side windows: More than 35% of light must be able to get in.

4. Rear Window: More than 35% of light must be able to get in.

Legal Tint in NH- Tint Darkness for Passenger Vehicles

Windshield

NH tint rules say that if you use a non-reflective tint with a VLT of 35%, you can put it on the top six inches of your car’s windows.

Front side windows

New Hampshire is one of the places where the front side windows can only be 70 percent dark.

This means that the NH tint rules don’t stop you from getting a dark tint on the front side windows.

Backside windows

New Hampshire has strict rules about how dark your windows can be. If you use a darker shade than 35, you are probably breaking the law.

The New Hampshire Tint Laws say that this means you can get a 35% dark tint on the back windows without getting in trouble.

Rear window

In New Hampshire, 35 is the allowed tint.

This indicates that in order for it to be acceptable, the Front and rear windows of your car must be at least this dark.

If your car’s windows are darker than this, the NH State Police may require you to get a special license.

Legal Tint in NH- Tint Darkness for Multi-purpose Vehicles

Windshield

NH tint rules say that if you use a non-reflective tint with a VLT of 35%, you can put it on the top six inches of your car’s windows.

Front side windows

New Hampshire is one of the places where the front side windows can only be 70 percent dark.

This means that the NH tint rules don’t stop you from getting a dark tint on the front side windows.

Backside windows

New Hampshire has strict rules about how dark your windows can be. If you use a darker shade than 35, you are probably breaking the law.

The New Hampshire Tint Laws say that this means you can get a 35% dark tint on the back windows without getting in trouble.

Rear window

In New Hampshire, 35 is the allowed tint. This means that your car’s Front and back windows must be at least this dark for it to be acceptable.

If your car’s windows are darker than this, the NH State Police may require you to get a special license.

Window tint reflection in New Hampshire

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat.

New Hampshire Window Tinting Laws

New Hampshire window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

1. Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

2. Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

1. Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

2. Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Other New Hampshire window tint rules and regulations:

Other significant laws, regulations, and restrictions concerning window tinting in New Hampshire exist. Here are a few examples:

1. Side Mirrors: If the back window is covered, you need two side mirrors.

2. Restricted Colors: No specific colors can’t be used for tint.

3. Certificates: The people who make and sell film in New Hampshire don’t have to get a certificate for the film they sell.

4. Stickers: Stickers are recommended by state law, but they are not required.

5. Medical Exceptions: New Hampshire law does allow medical exemptions for 35% VLT on the windshield and windows to the driver’s left and right.

6. Penalties: Traffic ticket for not moving.

Keep in mind that the laws and rules about tinting in New Hampshire may be read differently in your town or where you live.

We always suggest that you double-check the information we give you with your local DMV or law police.

Benefits of Window Tinting

The shade on your car’s windows isn’t just for looks; it also helps in other ways. So let’s discuss the benefits of tinting your car’s windows.

Prevents the Interior from Fading

We always look for shade when we park our cars, don’t we? Well, it helps us keep the outside of our car in excellent shape.

The interior of your car is protected From the glare of the sun when you tint the windows. So, if your seats are made of beautiful leather, they are less likely to get ruined.

Blocks UV Rays

You don’t require convincing that ultraviolet rays are harmful to your health, do you?

Everyone is aware that excessive use of sunscreen won’t protect you from harm. And you may easily prevent this issue if your car has darkened windows.

Get Better Security

The worst scenario is for someone to glance at you while you’re driving. More people in the center than at the front must cope with this issue.

Additionally, you won’t have to deal with this annoying issue if you get colored spectacles.

Take a Chill Pill

On the warmest summer days, not even the air conditioner will be able to keep you cool.

But if your windows are darkened, you no longer have to worry about sweating!

Cost of Car Window Tint New Hampshire

The price for tinting can differ from film to film. For instance, it will cost you between $150 and $200 to utilize a typical classic film for your Sedan.

Additionally, you must spend at least $400 if you want anything exceptional, such as clay hues.

But you may get a tint kit and do it yourself if you don’t have the money for a professional tint job. Good news: It will only set you back roughly $100!

Can you tint your windows in nh

You can tint your windows in New Hampshire, but you have to follow certain rules.

As was already said, you can put non-reflective tint on the top 6 inches of your window. People often call this place the “AS-1 line.”

The driver’s window and passenger window can also be darkened, but the darkness of the tint can’t be more than 35% Visible Light Transmission (VLT).

New Hampshire Window Tinting Laws

There are no limits on how dark the tint can be on the rear side windows and back window. You can tint these windows to any amount you like as long as it doesn’t reflect light.

Are tinted windows legal in new hampshire

Yes, tinted windows are legal in New Hampshire, but there are Certain restrictions.

The driver’s window and the passenger window on the driver’s side can be darkened, but the darkness of the tint can’t be more than 35% Visible Light Transmission (VLT).

Also, non-reflective tint can be put on the top 6 inches of the glass, which is called the “AS-1 line.” But it is against the law to put tint below this line on the window.

There are no limits on how dark the tint can be on the rear side windows and back window.

You can tint these windows to any amount you like as long as it doesn’t reflect light.

Remember that you can ask the state for an exemption and acquire a Permission if your medical condition necessitates specialist window tinting.

New hampshire front window tint law

In New Hampshire, the front window tint rule says that the top 6 inches of the windshield can have a tint that doesn’t reflect light. Below this 6-inch line, the color can’t go.

Any color that goes below this line is against the law and could lead to a violation and fines.

Visible Light Transmission (VLT) on the rest of the front side windows (driver’s window and passenger window) is limited to 35%.

This means that the darkened windows must let at least 35% of visible light through.

Remember that you can’t put mirrored tint on any windows in New Hampshire.It’s crucial to abide by these guidelines to prevent fees and other issues.

Legal Windshield Tint in New Hampshire

New Hampshire’s rules about windshield window tint apply to both cars (like sedans and coupes) and MPVs and say that the tint can’t go more than six inches below the top of the windshield.

In New Hampshire, the darkest tint that can be put on a windshield is 35% VLT. This is a measure of how much visible light can get through.

Vehicle Window Tint Laws in New Hampshire

New Hampshire’s rules about car window tint are easy to understand as long as you know how the tint is rated for VLT.

No kind of window film that darkens the glass can be used to tint the front side windows, which are the ones next to the driver and shotgun seat.

All of the other side windows, including those in the back seat, third row, and any extra rows, the cargo area, and the back window, which is also called the back windshield, are limited to 35% VLT at their darkest.

No reflective, metallic, or mirrored tints can be used on the windows of any New Hampshire-registered vehicle, but all other tint colors are allowed right now.

New Hampshire Window Tint Waiver- NH Tint Waiver

Any driver in New Hampshire who has a medical permit can tint their car windows to any degree.

For this permission, you need a letter from your doctor that says you need to tint your windows because of a medical condition.

The letter needs to say who you are, when you were born, and why you need to tint your windows.

You must also carry this letter with you when You drive and give it to a police officer if they ask for it.

How to Get Medical Exemption for Window Tint in New Hampshire?

Obtaining this New Hampshire Window Tint Waiver Form is a reasonably easy process.

Simply visit your physician and request a statement indicating that you require the dark tint for medicinal reasons.

Take the note to your local motor vehicle office once you have it, and they will give you an exemption sticker to display on your car.

NH tint Waiver Requirements

StateNH window tint waiver requirements
Statute, regulation, or other sourcesN.H. Rev. Stat. § 266:61-
a, § 266:58a
N.H. Code Admin. R. SafC 2503.02, 2503.03
For whom the exemption may applydriver or regular passenger in the front seat
Reason(s)Extreme intolerance to light, sun allergies, melanoma, lupus, porphyria, or
any other medical disease that gets worse when exposed to the sun.
Which windowswindshield or windows on the driver’s left and right
Limits on the amount of tintnot < 35% light transmittance
Certification from medical provider medical doctor
Application to state
department
required
Frequency of
certification of need
2 years

New Hampshire Window Tinting Laws Video

Medical exemption information

1. New Hampshire DMV: Tinted windows medical waiver

2. New Hampshire DMV: Application for tinted window medical waiver (.pdf file)

References

1. Wikipedia

2. State website

3. New Hampshire Statutes section 266:58-a: Tinted glass

4. New Hampshire House Bill 224 – Amended tinting laws

The Bottom Line

The purpose of this article was to inform you about New Hampshire’s tint regulations so you can travel the state in your car with confidence.

In conclusion, if you want to tint your car’s windows in New Hampshire, you need be aware of the rules.

Although window tinting is subject to various rules, doing so is well worth your effort due to the benefits.

 👉 Visit our Site for more information: https://ustintinglaws.com.

New Hampshire Window Tinting Laws – FAQ

What is the legal tint limit for front side windows in New Hampshire?

Visible Light Transmission (VLT) limits the amount of tint that can be put on the front side windows to 35%.

What is the legal tint limit for rear side windows in New Hampshire?

There are no rules about how dark the tint can be on the back side windows.

Can I have tint on my front windshield below the top 6 inches?

No, you can’t put tint on the top 6 inches of the front window.

What is the allowed VLT percentage for the rear window in New Hampshire?

The shade on the back window can be any darkness.

Is reflective tinting allowed on windows in New Hampshire?

No, you can’t put mirrored tint on any windows.

Are there any medical exemptions for window tinting in New Hampshire?

Yes, people with medical problems can ask for an exemption, but they must get a permit from the state.

How is window tint darkness measured?

The amount of light that can get through the tint is shown by the VLT percentage.

What are the penalties for violating window tint laws in New Hampshire?

If you break the rule about window tint, you may have to pay a fine or take off the illegal tint.

Are out-of-state vehicles exempt from New Hampshire tint laws?

No, all cars must follow New Hampshire’s rules about window tinting if they are driven in the state.

Leave a Comment